SYTYCD Top 20: Just Like Lady GaGa Says…If It’s Not Rough, It Isn’t Fun (6/10)

1-Jeanine Mason and Philip Chbeeb
Hip-Hop by Tabitha and Napoleon
“Mad” by Ne-Yo

Photobucket

I did not start out a Philip fan, but he is growing on me. It definitely helped to see him in a choreographed number because his popping&locking had not really made an impression on my until tonight. Jeanine did well to keep up with him and the whole number was rather adorable. However, I couldn’t help but view it a little bit like they were a lesser version of Joshua and Katee. Maybe that’s just because I didn’t like the song that much. A strong start to the season in any case.

2-Asuka Kondoh and Vitolia Jeune
Broadway by Tyce Diorio
“Hot Honey Rag” from Chicago

Photobucket

Before I start let me say that I hate Tyce Di’Orio. I think he is obnoxious and I want to rip off the thin line of facial hair along his chin. In particular, when Tyce choreographs a Broadway routine, I am often left disappointed at the routine and a little sad at the precious moments of my life that have been wasted. This routine was really no different. It was not terrible, but in the context of the show tonight…it was one of the worst. The choreography didn’t punch or build with the music. Their chemistry was non-existent. They appear to be good dancers as far as I can tell, but they are in trouble tonight for sure.

3-Karla Garcia and Jonathan Platero
Cha Cha by Tony Meredith
“Poker Face” by Lady GaGa

Photobucket

The judges freaked out about this way more than I expected them too. Technically it was fine. The lighting was cool and the music was an interesting choice and might have worked if the dancers pulled it off with their personality. Unfortunately, I was distracted the entire time by the twelve year old boy on stage in a sheer top that showed his nips! Seriously, I will never be able to take him seriously if he keeps smiling all the time. He is potentially the Thayne of this season. I believe this couple will be in trouble as well!

4-Randi Evans and Evan Kasprzak
Jazz by Tyce Diorio
“I Only Have Eyes For You” by Jamie Cullum

Photobucket

Okay, so Randi and Evan are probably my favorite couple at this point for making me enjoy a Tyce routine. Beyond that though, these are two incredibly talented dancers. Evan blew my expectations out of the water by the stuff he could do. Randi comes from this background so I wasn’t as surprised by her performance. However, it was a truly moving performance that was just beautifully done. I heart them!

5-Paris Torres and Tony Bellissimo
Hip Hop by Tabitha and Napolean
“Let The Beat Rock” by The Black Eyed Peas

Photobucket

I do not heart them so much. Actually, as people they are fine but as dancers they are coming up a little short. I don’t think it will take America much time at all to discover that Tony is not in fact a strong dancer. In fact, I believe he is likely the worst dancer in the Top 20 based on tonight’s show. I actually enjoyed Paris quite a bit and she rocked those black leather hot pants! Yes she did! She also wiped the floor with Tony on his own “style” since he is supposed to be a popper. This routine could have been better than it was and this couple is also in trouble this week.

6-Caitlin Kinney and Jason Glover
Bollywood by Nakul Dev Mahajan
“Jai Ho” from Slumdog Millionaire

Photobucket

Love him. Not sold on her yet. She rubbed me the wrong way in Hollywood week and I haven’t really recovered. I also don’t think she is that talented which I think was evident in that she was a bit sloppy in this number. Jason was exceptional in this number as his precision and character were right on point! However, I am so glad to see that Bollywood seems to work as a category! Can’t wait for more!

7-Janette Manrara and Brandon Bryant
Foxtrot by Louie Van Amstel
“Come Fly With Me” by Michael Buble

Photobucket

I think Louie Van Amstel was brought on board due to the fact that Alex Di Silva is undergoing sexual assault charges. Fortunately for us, Louie Van Amstel totally rocks! This was quite possibly the first Foxtrot I have enjoyed on the show. It was lovely! Brandon’s head does not match his body at all. His body is pure muscle while his head looks like a kewpie doll. I would advice that he shave off that stupid bit of a mustache he is attempting to grow and that may help. I did appreciate how they both injected personality into the performance though!

8-Ashley Valerio and Kupono Aweau
Jazz by Wade Robson
“Felt Mountain” by Goldfrapp

Photobucket

I loved this number to be sure! However, the concept overpowered the choreography. I don’t really feel like I know if Ashly and Kupono are great dancers because the dance was not the highlight of this piece. Wade Robson exists in his own little creative world and it is strange to consider that he has evolved into this genius after choreographing for N*Sync and Britney Spears. BTW, he is also the reason that Justin Timberlake and Britney Spears broke up and don’t think I have forgotten that Mister I’m Married To An Asian Woman Now. A great piece that did little to highlight the performers however they will make it to next week so I’m not worried.

9-Melissa Sandvig and Ade Obayomi
Contemporary by Mandy Moore
“Right Here Waiting” by Richard Marx

Photobucket

I did not connect emotionally to this number as much as the judges, but I thought it was superb technically. I know Melissa is 29 but her hair tonight made her like 47 if she is a day. In general this number felt a bit dated to me probably because of the hair and the 80s music. I will be interested to see what happens when they get some different styles. Hip Hop for example or Salsa.

10-Kayla Radomski and Max Kapitannikov
Samba by Louis Van Amstel
“Jum Bah Day” by House of Gypsies

Photobucket

Loved this number! I actually kind of love this couple too! I don’t know, we’ll see what happens next week! She did a great job for having never done ballroom before. It was a great number to end the show! The judges lost their mind which I thought may have been a bit much, but overall this Top 20 appears to be extremely talented.

Bottom Couples:
Asuka and Vitolia
Karla and Jonathan
Paris and Tony

Great start to hopefully a great season!

J Ramp Out!

7 Responses to “SYTYCD Top 20: Just Like Lady GaGa Says…If It’s Not Rough, It Isn’t Fun (6/10)”

  1. rhonder Says:

    Totally agree with your bottom 3.

    I HEART Caitlin and right now she is my fave girl. I feel like she lacks confidence and is surprised with each good thing that happens to her or good remark from a judge. She is exceeding her own expectations which is why I like her. I thought she was great in the Bollywood # and I couldn’t stop watching her, probably because I was just rooting for her so much.

    As for the guys – Evan is still my fave no question, but I also truly love Jason.

    If there is any justice in the dance world – Tony will go home tonight!

  2. Jonny V Says:

    Favorite 3 couples are:
    Ade and Melissa
    Evan and Randi
    Caitlin and Jason

    The judges pretty much loved everyone and everything tonight except for the Tyce Diorio “broadway” number. The dancers were bad, but the choreo was worse! GET A NEW BROADWAY CHOREOGRAPHER! I hate Tyce! (I mean I liked his jazz number, but still hate him.)

    Thought Mary was over the top funny last night. The botox bit was an OMG moment. I think Adam Shankmaster is so cute and queer.

    I think we may be saying goodbye to asian ballroom and uganda homeless tonight.

  3. Jonny V Says:

    Oh…and I was suprised that the judges didn’t comment on the fact that Jonathan was bit girly and flamboyant and not at all masculine during his dance. Maybe Nigel is scared that GLAAD will be watching him to mess up again all season.

  4. rhonder Says:

    I don’t know I kind of think Mary will stamp her feet and demand that the ballroom dancers stay on the show. They may decide to keep Tony, because they want to see him grow, but how could they keep him and send someone like Vitolia home?

    This is going to be a rough season with dance style, song choice and personality playing a much larger role, because most everyone are really good dancers.

  5. Benny Says:

    LOVE Wade and everything he does… HATE Tyce but I believe we are ALL on that boat, and Mary Murphy was killing me last night… I love that crazy bitch. I even made Cory watch it and he liked it… Thats what he gets for 5 months of watching FOOTBALL 🙂

  6. rhonder Says:

    Paris and Tony are pleasantly sent packing! Is Paris Jay Leno’s illegitimate daughter? Because her chin is ENORMOUS!

    Jonathan and Asuka are hanging on by a thread.

  7. Jonny V Says:

    Goodbye Tony! Though Paris got a raw deal because of her partner. They never split up partners the first week. Therefore, Paris had to go because Tony had to go.

    LOVE CAT DEELEY!

Leave a comment